Spokane

Driving distance from …

Coeur d’Alene: 39 minutes

Pullman:  1 hour, 28 minutes

Ellensburg: 2 hours, 55 minutes

Seattle: 4 hours, 53 minutes

I wasn’t very well-acquainted with Spokane until I moved here a few years ago, but I have quickly learned to love it. Spokane offers all the benefits you’d expect from the second-largest city in the state, yet it isn’t a giant urban sprawl like the Seattle area (no offense to West-siders; I’m one of you). Even the busiest Spokane streets are easy to navigate. On Spokane driving, my motto is, “All roads lead to Division.”

Quick Facts:

Andrea’s Favorite …

Student deal: The Martin Woldson Theater at the Fox. Symphonies, orchestras, Grammy-award winning singers, the Fox has it all. My fellow poor college students can’t miss out on student rush tickets. Typically, you can buy them two hours before the show, sometimes for only $7. And if you’re interested in forties’ music in the slightest, you cannot miss one of their big band tributes.

Coffee shop: The Service Station. In addition to its delicious coffee and food, this non-profit holds concerts and sells goods for humanitarian organizations like Krochet Kids. If you’re a Whitworth student, you will run into a friend here. Try their chicken chipotle panini if you’re into spicy food. Personal favorite drink: white chocolate Americano for under $3.

 

 

 

 

Freebie: Riverfront Park is a fun and free place to hang out, and it’s within walking distance of downtown. Slide down the giant radio flyer, stroll down Centennial Trail, run through the fountain on a hot afternoon, feed the ducks by the carrousel, or better yet, feed the garbage goat.

 

 

 

More Info:

9 responses to this post.

  1. Nice, Andrea! I like it! But what about Pleasant Blends? Cheap drinks plus Whitworth discount plus really nice owner! Oh well, I guess we all have our favorites 🙂

    Reply

  2. I was surprised to learn that Benny and Joon was filmed in Spokane!

    Reply

  3. Posted by Caitlyn on January 7, 2011 at 1:49 PM

    I agree, Pleasant Blends is wonderful. I need to check out the theater you mention, had not heard of it till now.

    Reply

  4. Posted by deavide on January 7, 2011 at 2:03 PM

    I feel more educated about Spokane now!

    Reply

  5. I’m excited to see which cities you choose after Spokane!

    Reply

  6. I really like this! Its very helpful!

    Reply

  7. What a great idea for a blog! I love the idea of being able to take a mini vacation that doesn’t break the bank!

    Reply

  8. Posted by Marine Disco Roomie on January 9, 2011 at 1:57 PM

    Very useful and interesting, I love it and I love you! Congrats!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

